Announcement: The 2014 Visual Art Grant Recipients

2014 Visual Art Grant Award

The Rema Hort Mann Foundation Awards
grants in New York City and Los Angeles

“Our goal continues to be to choose artists that will make the most lasting contribution to contemporary art; among so many outstanding applications, the selection process gets more difficult every year.”

– Susan Hort,selection committee member


The Rema Hort Mann Foundation is proud to present the eight 2014 Los Angeles Emerging Artist Grantees! The eight recipients of the $10,000 unrestricted grant are: Nick Aguayo, Heather Cassils, Danielle Dean, Christina Forrer, Alison O’Daniel, Mark So, John Wiese, and Lisa Williamson.

The selection process began last fall, as the Rema Hort Mann Foundation accepted nominations from select curators, artists, critics and collectors who are most in touch with the Los Angeles emerging art scene. From a pool of 62 applicants, the eight artists were then selected through a second, independent selection committee. This year’s selection committee included Rita Gonzalez (Associate Curator of Contemporary Art at LACMA), Susan Hort (collector and representative of the Rema Hort Mann Foundation), Eric Kim (director and co-founder of the LA non-profit Human Resources), Sarah Lehrer-Graiwer (writer and curator and editor of Pep Talk), and Monica Majoli (visual artist and associate professor of art, University of California, Irvine).

This year’s grants will mark the second year of the LA Artists Initiative, a multi-year program developed by the Rema Hort Mann Foundation, with additional support from the Los Angeles Department for Cultural Affairs. The eight grantees will join a vast alumni network of past Rema Hort Mann Foundation grantees in both New York and Los Angeles, including Kehinde Wiley, Keltie Ferris, Mickalene Thomas, Sarah Sze, and Rashaad Newsome.

For a complete list of this year’s nominees and to view their work, please visit the e-gallery ( For more information about the Emerging Art Grant or the Rema Hort Mann Foundation, please contact Allison Galgiani at (in New York), and Catherine Powers at  (in Los Angeles)."


List of Grant Recipients:


Tomer Aluf
Michael Bilsborough
Robert Boyd
John Brattin
Thomas Brouillette
Keltie Ferris
Adam Helms
Jennie C. Jones


John Carter
William Cordova
Chris Dorland
Robin Graubard
Matt Keegan
Katrin Sigurdardottir
Greg Smith


Frank Benson
Liz Bougatsos
Ellen Harvey
Valerie Hegarty
Adam Putnam
Mika Rottenberg
Gedi Sibony


Matthew Bakkom
Guy Ben Ner
Kevin Cooley
Heidie Giannotti
Scott Hug
Bradley McCallum/
Jacqueline Tarry
Christopher Mir
Sarah Oppenheimer


David Altmejd
Jenny Dubnau
Luis Gispert
Amy Globus
Deborah Grant
Frank Magnotta
Dana Schutz
Ward Shelley
Eli Sudbrack
Danielle Webb
Kehinde Wiley


Adel Abdessemed
Carlos Ancalmo
Sanford Biggers
Nancy Hwang
Patrick Jacobs
Mauro Restiffe
Aida Ruilova


Augusto Arbizo
Katrin Asbury
Beth Campbell
Sharon Core
Vicky Sambunaris
Javier Tellez
Banks Violette
Clara Williams


Valerie Atkisson
Amy Cutler
Katy Grannan
Stuart Hawkins
Elka Lehmann
Erik Parker
Eric Schnell
Fatimah Tuggar


Laylah Ali
Patrick Killoran
Kristin Lucas
Danica Phelps
Dylan Stone
Momoyo Torimitsu
Lane Twitchell


Jennifer Bornstein
Michael Bramwell
Patty Chang
Christopher Faust
Sarah Sze


Laura Cottingham
Carter Kustera